I Used to Bleed Beautiful Colors

19 Mar

I used to bleed beautiful colors;

colors that  bled a beautiful red and healed a beautiful bronze scab,

eventually leaving a beige trace of a wound.

I used to bleed the most beautiful words;

wonderful soliloquies, sonets, sounds.

It’s strange because I bled beautiful colors;

beautiful blurs, beautiful bruises, beautiful blood.

I used to bleed beautiful thoughts;

images of beautiful people, places, thoughts.

I used to bleed beautiful blood;

full of living, laughing, loving.

I used to bleed the most beautiful blood;

Free of toxic waste, tainted thoughts, trickles of immortality.

I used to bleed the most beautiful opportunities;

endless horizons.

I now bleed black blood;

blistered hands, dripping wounds, bloodshot eyes.

I now bleed black blood;

cloudy thoughts, panicked sounds,

ugly images of myself flashing in the mirror.

I now bleed black blood

that pumps through my heart like a plague.

Ring around the rosey,

my sanity fell out in a patch of poseys.

I used to bleed beautiful blood.

Beautiful blood turned bleak blood,

turned black blood.

2 Responses to “I Used to Bleed Beautiful Colors”

  1. Mollie Hunt March 30, 2014 at 11:45 am #

    Ouch, hurts to read but excellent… should I say beautiful?

Tell me what you think! Unless you're going to be stupid, then don't tell me what you think.

Maisy's Mom

Dirty Diapers, Crafts and Soul Searching (But mostly diapers)

Just a dreaming teenage wallflower

If your dreams don't scare you, they aren't big enough

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

